10 Random Things About The Drewster

Image
1) I love language. I love everything about words;learning new ones, using the right ones and putting them together in creative ways. Bad grammar bothers me way more than it should.

2) I love music from the 1980s, specifically one-hit wonders from college radio/early MTV. I miss going to independent record stores and spending time flipping through albums, even if just to look at cover art.

3) One of my favorite movies is ‘Elephant Man'(1980). The scene where John Merrick recites the section of Psalms (“The Lord is my shepherd”) and the doctors realize that he can actually read/learn; gets me every time.

4) I am not sure why I like hearing women speaking with Russian accents. It’s my unsubstantiated proof of reincarnation, perhaps.

5) I have come to like building things out of wood. My skill set has progressed far beyond my days with Mr. Lovett in Industrial Arts class. There is something about seeing a tangible, finished product after a hard day’s work. Working with plaster, however, is still a bowl of suck. If time travel were possible, we should go back in time to the person who created it…and beat them senseless.

6) I hate wearing neckties, although it’s nice to dress up occasionally.

7) Ironing a cruel and futile practice, and those who practice its dark art should be ostracized until it no longer occurs. Ever.

8) Although I know they are nutritionally void, I absolutely love pork rinds.

9) I like to people watch. I don’t necessarily need to know any details, but sometimes standing on a busy street corner (see: NYC) and listen in on peoples’ conversations…just to hear snippets of phrases. It’s a quick source of inspiration for my writing.

10) I want to write a novel and have it published. I have no plans to quit my day job, as nursing seriously rocks. I would absolutely love if I could make my rounds on late night talk shows to talk about my book, and better still, have a larger than life poster in Times Square  advertizing my book. Heck, if I can make it through nursing school, I can get published, right?

About drewster55

This blog will not give you a shiny, full head of hair, but it will provide a glimpse into the mind of a 40-something male who has a penchant for family life, science, nursing, education, coffee, and pop culture.
This entry was posted in 10, Drewster, fun, lists, music, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 10 Random Things About The Drewster

  1. Make Something Mondays says:

    If you wrote a book I would buy it. I like you blog and writing style enough that the topic wouldn’t even matter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

